Breaking News

The Maui Nonprofit Directors Association honors its supporters, retirees and top executive

Left to right: Paul, Debbie, JD, Sherri Bevanne Richard and Cassandra

The 2017 Maui Non Profit Directors Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, October 19, 2017 at the Maui Arts & Cultural Center from 5:30pm to 8:00pm.

Over 100 nominees, guests and dignitaries attended the event. Lt. Governor Shan Tsutsui was the keynote speaker and Judge Richard Bissen performed the installation of the Maui Nonprofit Directors officers: President, Debbie Cabebe, Vice President Bevanne Bowers, Treasurer Sherri Dodsen, and Secretary, Richard Carr and Ex-officio- Paul Tonnessen.

Paul Tonnessen, Executive Director of The Friends of the Children’s Justice Center presented awards to honor MNPD members who had retired in 2017: Lucy Feinberg of Parents and Children Together, Roy Katsuda of Hale Mahaolu, Lyn McNeff of Maui Economic Opportunity, Inc., and Jeanne Unemori Skog of Maui Economic Development Board. Collectively, these retiring executive directors served the Maui community for over 100 years!

Cassandra Abdual, Executive Director for Na Hale O Maui and JD Wyatt, Executive Director for Big Brothers Big Sisters presented the Community Business Awards for those businesses who advocate, volunteer and give back to the Maui community. Atlas Insurance, AXA Advisors, Nalu’s South Shore Grill, Pau Maui Vodka and Na Hoaloha ‘Ekolu, Ltd. (Old Lahaina Luau) were nominated. Na Hoaloha ‘Ekolu was presented with the award this year. To celebrate their 30 year anniversary, the performed “30 Acts of Aloha” and raised funds to be donated to local nonprofits and also traveled to New York, San Francisco and Laos to share their aloha and Hawaiian spirit.

Caroline Killhour, Executive Director of Hui No’eau Visual Arts Center and Richard Carr, Deputy Director of Habitat for Humanity presented the 2017 Humanitarian of the Year Award. The nominees were: Lolita Barona, Keoki Freeland, William T. Kinaka, Tom Leuteneker, Bard Peterson, Wendy Rice Peterson, and William “Bill” Staton. The Humanitarian Award was given to Tom Leuteneker for his tireless work and his passion for community service.

Sherri Dodson, Executive Director for Habitat for Humanity Maui presented the Executive Director of the Year Award. The nominees were: Caroline Killhour of Hui No’eau Visual Arts Center, Andrea Hall Rodgers of La’akea Foundation, and Wesley Lo of Hale Makua. Caroline Killhour was presented with the O’o Award, the perpetual award that passes from winner to winner each year.

The MNPD Association was established in 1989 to provide a forum for non-profit organizations to exchange personal and professional information and to cultivate resources to benefit themselves, their organizations and the community of Maui.



Check Also

MAYORWatch: Where Should we Park for the County Christmas Celebration?

Mayor Michael Victorino answers weekly questions submitted to his office staff. Question: Aloha Mayor! I …